In Illinois, driving with a suspended license or a revoked license is a criminal offense, not simply an infraction that can be handled by paying a fine. DWLS (driving while license suspended) is a Class A misdemeanor, meaning the defendant may face up to 1 year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500 if convicted. Not only that, driver's license suspension is likely as well as probation, community service, or other criminal penalties.
Have you been accused of driving on a suspended license? If so, it is important that you talk to legal professional about your options. You may be facing the very real possibility of jail time. By discussing your matter with an attorney experienced with these offenses, you can find out what can be done to protect your rights and your interests and how you can avoid a conviction for this serious crime. Driving with a suspended license is not a simple traffic ticket you can pay off and ignore. In some cases, it may even be charged as a felony if certain aggravating circumstances are in place (such as a prior conviction for the same offense, for example.)
Chicago Driving While License Suspended (DWLS) Charges
At times, a driver may not know that his or her license has been suspended. While the Illinois Secretary of State is required to inform a driver if his or her license is suspended or revoked, there is always the possibility that the notice was lost in the mail or that it went to a previous address where the driver no longer lives. Whatever the cause, the driver may then unintentionally drive with a suspended or revoked license.